The Thomas Hardy Collection Volume Two

The Thomas Hardy Collection Volume Two

The Return of the Native, Tess of the D'Urbervilles, and The Woodlanders

Thomas Hardy


  • Description
  • Author
  • Info
  • Reviews


Three novels of love, ambition, and nineteenth-century English society.
This volume includes three of the greatest works by the iconic Victorian novelist.
The Return of the Native: Eustacia Vye yearns to escape the village of Egdon Heath, but her marriage to a well-traveled man doesn’t bring the adventure she craves, in this novel that brilliantly evokes the dangerous allure of romantic fantasies.
Tess of the D’Urbervilles: A young woman struggles against tradition and circumstance in this story of love, class, and deceit.
The Woodlanders: Grace Melbury is torn between a wealthy, unfaithful husband and the humble woodsman she truly loves in this novel that examines the perils of social ambition.


Thomas Hardy:
Thomas Hardy (1840–1928) gave up a career in architecture to devote himself to writing. He is now regarded as one of the greatest novelists in English literature. His best-remembered works, all set in the fictional county of Wessex, are Jude the ObscureTess of the D’UrbervillesThe Mayor of CasterbridgeThe Return of the Native, and Far from the Madding Crowd